Festival Congress Award Nominees Announced

09 Oct 2015

We’ve just announced the nominees for the 2nd Festival Congress Awards taking place during the Festival Congress on the 5th November at the Great Hall, Cardiff University. The awards will be hosted by Glastonbury’s Ben Challis and are decided on by the AIF members.

Here are the nominees:

New festival on the block (no more than three editions)

Northbound Festival
Somersault Festival
Breakout Festival
Underneath The Stars Festival
Forgotten Fields Festival
Garage Nation Festival
Camp Wildfire
Unique festival arena

Clik Clik Collectives Cabinet of Lost Secrets at Nozstock: The Hidden Valley.
Room No. 7 at 2000trees
The Hide at Larmer Tree Festival
The Hidden Hedge at Blissfields
The Obelisk Stage at Deershed
HMS Sweet Charity at Glastonbury
The Over Barn at Barn On The Farm
Next Generation at Village Green Festival
The Travelling Barn at Fire In The Mountain
Live act of the year

Black Peaks
Ibibio Sound Machine
Songhoy Blues
Mr B The Gentlemen Rhymer
Nothing But Thieves
Kimberly Anne
Cleft Vs. Alpha Male Tea Party
Wolf Alice
Mind blowing spectacle

The Larmer Tree – 25th Anniversary Site Installation
Block9 – Glastonbury
Fireworks – Bestival
La Fura dels Baus (the human net) – Wilderness
Boomtown’s Palace (The Main Stage)- Boomtown Fair
Best smart marketing campaign of the year

Boomtown Fair’s Spoof Videos
Standon Calling’s 10th Anniversary Theme
We Are FSTVL’s Youtube Channel
Bestival’s Summer of Love Campaign
Festival journalist / website of the year

Scott Williams of efestivals
Edith Bowman – Edith Bowman’s Great British Music Festivals
Hannah Braid – Daisy Digital
Simon Godley – God is in the TV
Remfry Dedman – The Independent
Festival Baby
Emmet Brown award for innovative use of technology

Larmer Tree Festival’s Music Controlled Balloon Lights.
Skiddle’s Rapidscan Box Office
Natural Event’s Compost Loos
The Physical Network – Peer to Peer ticketing
Shambala – The first UK Festival to accept Bitcoin as payment
Unsung hero

James Scarlett – 2000trees
Davie Wilson – Larmer Tree Festival site manager
Alex Thomson – Press officer of Greenhouse Group (Blissfields)
Emma Zillmann – Kendal Calling/Forgotten Fields
Chris Tofu – Continental Drifts
Olly Marfell – ArcTanGent
Jo McLoughlin – Village Green Production Manager
Megan Evans – Deershed Festival


Following the ceremony, delegates will enjoy a festival-themed party, with a street food festival banquet. AIF DJs including Rob da Bank (Bestival), The Head Gardener (Secret Garden Party) and Chris Tofu (Continental Drifts) will be spinning the tunes at the aftershow party in the same venue.

This year’s Festival Congress takes place at Cardiff’s Wales Millennium Centre and will feature over fifty guest speakers. Speakers from Secret Garden Party, Block 9 (Glastonbury / Dismaland), Walk the Plank, On Blackehath and Crate Brewery were recently added to the programme.

The AIF Festival Congress is supported by the Major Events Unit of the Welsh Government. Una Tickets is sponsor and exclusive ticketing partner and BIMM are a sponsor and the lead educational partner. For further information go to www.festivalcongress.com